One more poem and reaction

My plan is to focus more on yoga over the next several months, but I wanted to share one more poem with you, and some of the reaction it got.

I recently put together a poetry reading online (via Instagram) and included this new poem (it’s below, wait for it) and some of my earlier works, including these poems from my blog:

There were more poems but I didn’t want to list them all. You get the point. They’re poems that I wrote. I did a virtual reading on IG and collected some of the comments, which are very brutal and sometimes mean but I’m sharing them hear for you. But first, the new poem.

So mundane about the mud

Strangely dream-like beneath the earth
We lick quaking ghouls under the water
Be luminous. The thought is good
All sticky underneath the lavender sky
I conjure comely gems against the wind
Be still. The Queen continues
So evil above the mud
We ensnare tiny icons in the shadows
Damn! The laughing hyena is going
backlit wanting
turning away
no way out
For how long
the refugee
make his way
wondering why

So here is some of the commentary I got on this and the other poems.

“Wow, this is bad.”

“Thanks for your poems. They make me want to rub coarse sandpaper on my scrotum.”

“Hearing your poetry is like listening to nails scraping down a chalkboard. Over and over again.”

“I’d listen to more of your poetry, but I’d rather kill myself.”

Nice, huh?

 

Leave a comment